sociauxanswers

Empowering the end user and those considering a career in digital media

The truth about how to get retweeted

with 3 comments

In your daily Twitter stream you will see countless individuals offering tips on how to increase your numbers of retweets. The advice ranges from overall strategy to specifics on the ideal number of characters in each tweet.

I find this a little cringe-worthy. Yes I feel the familiar flutter of excitement when someone I respect pays homage to my posts. But this is not why I tweet. Anyone who manages a successful Twitter profile will tell you, the key to success is not about the number of followers you get but who those followers are.

Twitter has given me an outlet to build a network of like-minded individuals with whom I can learn, share and help each other achieve in business. The links I post are there because I hope they will help others in the same way they helped me. When they are retweeted, I assume it is because someone feels their followers could also benefit.

The irony is, the more you share genuinely useful content in the spirit of collaboration, the more likely you are to get the retweets you desire. So, drop the formulas and tactics and start sharing what you yourself would want to read. Only then will you make the most of the relationships you have built.

Image credit

Written by sociauxanswers

February 25, 2010 at 9:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beth, another really well balanced and intelligent post.
    I have to admit I’m not a big retweeter – if someone shares something of interest I’ll usually send them an ‘@’ note or drop a reply in a comments box as I’m doing now as I feel this is a more engaging way to connect with the person that shared that information.
    I’m not saying things shouldn’t be retweeted (far from it) but as you rightly pointed out relationships rule the roost in social media and there are more personal ways of appreciating someone’s content than simply hitting RT.
    Adam

    adamvincenzini

    February 26, 2010 at 3:02 am

  2. LOVE the shirt.

    I agree with Adam, but I love re-tweeting. I have different followers than you do, so not only is this getting your msg out there, but its opening connections for you as the original tweeter. Adam is right though, include @the person to engage with the person first. Build those relationships.

    Laura

    Laura

    March 10, 2010 at 3:41 pm

  3. Personally I don’t think I retweet enough. But it is a case of ‘do my followers really want to know this?’. I am glad people recognise that it is not about how many followers you have, I have little over 100 but there is a community feel. It’s much like website hits… they don’t matter, not if people don’t follow on from there.

    David Clare

    March 11, 2010 at 2:07 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

